Sydney Motorsport Kart Club

Membership Renewal Getting Started

2018 Brian Farley Memorial Champion

What a weekend of racing! Qualifying was intense for the feature class with 3 tenths covering the top 10 and the top 30 within 1 second in the field of 39 drivers. Cody Brewczynski had provisional pole with a 40.649 leading into the Top 10 Shuffle. The shuffle was an exciting event with Mitchell Hewitt scoring the pole from his 4th place in qualifying after a 41.399. Cody was left to battle from 10th position. The rest of the Top Ten Shuffle after Hewitt on pole was Whitmore, Lichtenberger, Cohen, Howard, Black, Souslin-Harlow, Bregonje, Lopino and Brewczynski rounding out the 10.

After the some hard fought heats Reece Cohen was in a commanding position starting off pole for the final with Lopino and Hewitt rounding out the top 3 starters for the final on a scorching Western Sydney day.

Come the final, the field stopped at the last turn and held position before they were given the ‘start engines’ signal by the marshals. Then the field continued on a warm up lap before they started their 3 wide tribute lap leading into the Brian Farley Memorial.

Once the field came into their 2 by 2 starting format, they made their way through grandstand and the race was on! That was until turn 4 exit lap 1, a couple karts made contact and from that point it got messy. A red flag was brought out and medical attention was attended to and the track was cleared ready for the restart.

After the red flag the race was shortened from 18 laps to 16, from the restart after the red flag Cohen bolted and left the field in his trails. Reece was driving a millimeter perfect race lap after lap with in his #94. He had several challengers throughout the final laps but none could handle his times that lead to his win by +1.884, with Sandrone 2nd and Hewitt 3rd +3.929.

Congratulations Reece Cohen on winning the 2018 Brian Farley Memorial!

Photos courtesy Pamspix